Become A Bondsman
Licensing, supervision, and regulation of Bondsmen in Oklahoma is overseen by the Bail Bonds Division of the Oklahoma Insurance Department. The Oklahoma Bondsman Association is the official provider of pre-licensing education.
LICENSING TYPES AVAILABLE
There are multiple licenses available to an individual who would like a career in the bail industry. It is a little confusing at the start, but you will master the subject and have a rewarding career.
Surety – the majority of Bondsmen are surety bondsmen, who are backed by a professional, MCA or surety company.
Cash – some post their own cash bonds.
Property – some use property as collateral to the court on bonds.
Professional – Note: an applicant for a professional bondsman license shall have been continually licensed as a surety, cash, or property bondsman in the State of Oklahoma for a minimum of two (2) years immediately prior to the date of application in addition to the financial statement and deposit requirements.
Multicounty Agent – Note: an applicant for a multicounty agent bondsmen license shall have been continually licensed as a professional bondsman in the State of Oklahoma for a minimum of two (2) years without suspension or having any unpaid forfeitures prior to the date of application in addition to the financial statement, deposit requirements and licensing fees.
New licenses are pro-rated biennially, every two years, to the last day of the birth month of the licensee.
Renewal licenses renew biennially, every two years, to the last day of the birth month of the licensee.
Application Fee: $350 (includes application and investigation fee, does not include examination fee).
Renewal Fee: $200 or prorated for initial license.
APPLYING FOR A BAIL BOND LICENSE
At least twenty-one (21) years of age
Good character and reputation
Citizen of the United States
At least one year of state residency
High school diploma or its equivalent
Eligibility for a license is limited to persons who have not previously been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to, any felony, or to a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude or dishonesty.
These restrictions and additional restrictions found in Oklahoma Statutes, Title 59, Section 1315, apply to both applicants for a bail bondsman license and the applicant’s spouse. Please contact the Oklahoma Insurance Department if you have questions or concerns.
Become A Bondsman - Easy as 1,2,3
Step 1: Pre-Licensing Education
Sixteen (16) hours of pre-license education sponsored by the Oklahoma Bondsman Association is required prior to taking the bail bondsman exam. Visit the education page to learn more about upcoming pre-licensing classes.
Step 2: Examination
The bail bond examination is offered online through the Oklahoma Insurance Department. Visit their website for more information about the exam. The examination covers statutory requirements and practical applications, and it may also include information about procedures, duties, responsibilities, and bail bond law. The exam costs $100.
A score of 70% or higher is required to pass the exam. Re-examinations are allowed, however at least thirty (30) days must intervene between examinations. After third and subsequent examination failures, applicant may not apply to be examined for at least one year after the last examination date.
Step 3: Submit Documents and Apply
After completing your exam, you will need to submit several important documents to the Oklahoma Insurance Department. Once you submit your documents, an online application is required on www.oid.ok.gov to officially start your application process.
Applications are valid for six (6) months after submission. Effective November 1, 2017, this statute reduces to three (3) months after submission. If an applicant has not acted upon the application within that period, a new application and fees shall be submitted for the applicant to be considered for licensure.
To apply or renew a license, visit the Oklahoma Insurance Department website.