OBA Announces Election of Two New Board Members

The Oklahoma Bondsman Association (OBA) has announced the election of two members to the organization’s board of directors. Laurie Poole and Byron Self have been selected by their peers to serve on the board and will be responsible for representing their designated areas in Oklahoma as well as provide management of OBA affairs within their districts.

“Both of these individuals join our board with extensive experience, education and training in the bail industry,” said Dudley Goolsby, Jr., president of OBA. “We are looking forward to having them help lead our association and members during such an important time for our state.”

Poole joins the board as the NW Region Director with more than 5 years of experience as a licensed bail bondsman and owns Asset Bail Bonds in Oklahoma City. She also has previous experience as a private investigator, process server and bail enforcer. Poole graduated with a Bachelor of Science in History from Smith College in Massachusetts before obtaining her Master in Business Administration from Oklahoma State University. She also serves on the budget and grievance committees for the Professional Bail Agents of the United States (PBUS) and holds the secretarial position for the Oklahoma County Bondsman Association.

Self, a native of Madill, will serve as the SE Region Director and has been a licensed bail bondsman for more than 20 years. Upon graduating from Madill High School, he attended Southeastern Oklahoma State University before beginning his professional career with Oklahoma Steel and Wire. After numerous years and holding various positions in steel and wire product companies, Self transitioned into the bail industry, serving as a bail bondsman in southeast Oklahoma. Self is married and has two children.

The OBA represents nearly 600 bail agents and the board works to promote the association’s high ethical standards and continuing education for bondsman across the state, said Goolsby.

For more information about the OBA board of directors, visit our Board page.