The Bail Bond Division of the Oklahoma Insurance Department is
responsible for all aspects of licensing, supervision and regulation
of bail bonds in Oklahoma.
License Types Available
- Multi-County Agent
Pre-licensing Education- Pre-licensing Education – Sixteen (16) hours of pre-license education sponsored by the Oklahoma Bondsman Association required prior to testing. Upon passing PSI examination offered through the Oklahoma Insurance Department an on-line application is required on www.oid.ok.gov. to officially start your application process.
Continuing Education - Eight (8) hours annually. Continuing
education requirements are provided by the Oklahoma Bondsman Association
and are required each year to accumulate 16 hours to renew license biennnially.
- At least Twenty-one (21) years of age
- Good character and reputation
- Citizen of the United States
- At least one year of state residency
- High school diploma or its equivalent
Not previously convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere
to, any felony, or to a misdemeanor involving morale turpitude
NOTE: These restrictions and additional restrictions found in
Oklahoma Statutes, Title 59, Section 1315, apply to both applicants
for a bail bondsman license and the applicant's spouse. Please
contact the Oklahoma Insurance Department if you have questions
New licenses pro-rated biennially to the last day of the birth month of the licensee.
Renewal licenses renew biennially to the last day of the birth month of the licensee.
- Application Fee: $350 (includes application and investigation fee)
- Renewal Fee: $200 or prorated for initial license
Written examination covering statutory requirements and practical
Possible examination areas include procedures, duties, responsibilities,
and bail bond law
Examination Fee: $100.00
Date: As Scheduled
Passing Criteria: 70%
Applications are valid for six (6) months after submission
At least thirty (30) days shall intervene between examinations. After third and subsequent examination failures, applicant may not apply to be examined for at least one year after the last examination date.